The Coffee Port

My search for more great coffee shops in the Fraser Valley continues. My latest exploration landed me in The Coffee Port in Cloverdale area in Surrey, BC. I’ve seen the nice looking cafe with a cool signage on the intersection of 184 St & 64 Ave many times before, but I’m always just whizzing by and unable to make a quick turn. Finally one night after work, I had the chance to stop in to check the place out.

I arrived later than I hoped and unfortunately, because of their shorter hours on weekdays, my visit had to be a quick one. Even though I knew I had only 25 mins, I went right in.

The ambience is great. The place is well lit and inviting. Inside the cafe, there was mellow tunes playing in the background, a cozy fireplace in the corner and plenty of seating inside and outside on the patio. The barista that greeted me was super nice and handled my questions about their menu well. Specifically, I was curious about their ‘Red Coffee’ category, which was their red rooibos tea drinks! Basically, from my understanding, their red rooibos latte is a lighter, healthier alternative drink to coffee with ZERO caffeine. Sounds pretty awesome, right? I just had to try it – and it was quite enjoyable! Who would have thought that this kind of drink would still give me the pick-me-up that I was looking for?

If you’re like me, I often HAVE TO have some baked goods with my latte. Pictured above is my lemon raspberry loaf that was spongy and moist, just like cake! Before I left, they were even so kind to offer me some free baked goods to take home because they were closing and didn’t want any of the food to waste. I hope it’s not because I looked too hungry, LOL. Joking aside, the lemon raspberry loaf I was eating was delicious so there was no way I could turn down such a generous offer to try the rest of their goodies. The other treats I was able to try were strawberry white chocolate scones, apple cinnamon muffin and a cranberry orange muffin. Yum!! I made sure to share those treats with my family and friends to spread the good luck. 😉

Photo 2016-01-19, 6 44 17 PM

Before I wrap up this post, I need to give you another reason to check this place out. They also serve Birchwood Dairy Ice Cream (a local dairy farm in Abbotsford, BC) so if you are bringing some kiddos, or are simply craving some for yourself… you can have the best of both!

Review Summary

Ambience: Casual, trendy coffee shop, moderate noise level, good place to get some work done.
Food/drink: Enjoyed my red rooibos latte and baked goods! Will need to go back to try the coffees, sandwiches and of course, the ice cream!
Service: Super friendly staff. I didn’t feel rushed to leave at all even though I came in less than half an hour before closing time.
Parking: Free parking at the back parking lot. Parking can be easy to miss at night but just go back around and enter the back lot from the side of the building.
Pros: Great looking place, good coffee & food selection. Shaw & Telus wifi connection available. Loyalty membership available.
Cons: Longer hours would be great even on the weekends, but it’s understandable that it’s likely their slower hours during wintertime.

The Coffee Port
#103-18048 64 Ave, Surrey (corner spot, you can’t miss it!)

More photos:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Coffee Port Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a comment